CWD 14th December 2019

 In News

On Sunday runners club members followed up the Saturday Night Presentation and Christmas Party with the second ever club run to be held at Highland Heritage amongst the vines. Prior to the run beginning Marie Regan was recognised for completing her 50th Club run.

Fifty two runners battled the smoke and very warm morning, while tackling the 2km per lap course.

The fastest runners over the five distances were:

2km – female – Abigail Francis 8:58, Tanya Connolly 12:05, Donna Irwin 13:18

Male – Mike Cooper 9:31, Nick Irwin 11:25, Simon Lun 12:34

4km – female – Kerrie Lindsay 23:48, Megan Mori 25:42, Michelle Whiteley 26:51

Male – Alex Irwin 23:04, Michael Kennard 18:21, Aidan Whiteley 24:24

6km – female – Leanne Corcoran 28:01, Marie Regan 40:51, Jane Fairgrieve 47:38

Male – Charlie Brown 34:00, Peter Regan 35:28, John Connolly 35:50

8km – female – Kate Thornton 51:35, Anna Daintith 1:00:07

Male – Richard Hogg 46:58, George Hogg 1:03:48, Andrew McArdle 1:05:41.

10km – female Kinisha Roweth 1:04:32, Kim Jarvis 1:09:12

Male – Joel Broadfoot 47:22, James West 52:35, Noel Annett 52:43.

Overall winner was Madeline Mori who completed the 1 lap 2km course in 21:42.

A big thankyou to Mike Cooper for organising the event as well as the Merv’s coffee van to attend. Then marking the course and riding the bike out front for the first lap.


At a successful end of year Presentation and Christmas Party on Saturday night at Waratahs Sports Club the following trophies were awarded:

Runner of The Year – Mike Cooper

Junior Runner of The Year – Jai Anlezark

Most Consistent Overall – Senior Anthony Daintith, Junior Hugh Daintith

Most Consistent Wednesday – Senior Daryl Roweth, Junior Hugh Daintith

Most Improved (Sunday) – Over 55 Pam Fullgrabe, Open Alicia Anlezark, Junior Lucy Jurd

Most Improved (Wednesday) – Over 55 Julie Tooth, Open Alex McLean, Junior Oliver McLean

Championship – Over 55 – Female Rhonda Jones, Male Mike Cooper

Championship – Open – Female Leanne Corcoran, Male Anthony Daintith

Championship – Junior – Female Milla Jurd, Male Hugh Daintith

Trail Runner Championship – Female Alison Spurway, Male Joel Broadfoot

Presidents Medal – Mel Bolton

Encouragement Awards – Lucy Jurd and George Hogg


Unfortunately due to the poor air quality on Wednesday, the Elephant Park run was cancelled.


This Sunday the club run will be held at Berrilee Forest starting at 9am with distances of 4km, 8km and 11km.


Information provided by Daryl Roweth

Runner of the Year, Mike Cooper and Junior Runner of the Year Jai Anlezark, at the presentation last weekend.