Bronze for Sharp in big city

 In CWD Articles

Last Sunday was a big day out in Sydney with many Runners Club members tackling the testing and very popular City to Surf. There were many impressive results, from our fastest representative, Mitch Essex who ran a very impressive 56:28. To a couple of our more experience members in Brian Sharp who came home in third place in his age category and Glenys Rosser who was running her tenth and last City to Surf, as she now has a medal for each of her grandchildren. A big well done to all and we have listed the Club Runners and their times for the 2015 City to Surf:

Tony Syme 57:30, Brandon Connolly 58:12, Frank Ostini 58:29, Brad Simmons 59:26, Mathew Vickery 59:29, Kyle Ostini 60:39, Mike Cooper 62:10, Sue Dean 64:06, Sam Broadley 67:08, Joel Kitto 71:18, Simon Lun 71:29, Brian Sharp 72:07, Meg Vickery 76:00, Danielle Syme 78:50, Donna Read 79:45, Amy Sullivan 84:36, Sophie Broadley 84:41, Pam Fullgrabe 85:47, Richard Eggleston 87:05, Ben Broadley 87:10, Judy Tarleton 94:47, Charlotte Simmons 99:22, Sabrina Manickam 99:33, James Hennesy 106:54, Susie Patey 107:55 and Glenys Rosser 116:40. (Our apology to any runners members we may have missed)

At the Sunday Club run, 105 runners and walkers turned out at Endeavour Park, despite the large numbers of members in Sydney for the weekend. Nicole Williamson (10:44) was the fastest out of the blocks around the one lap, 2.6km course. The Lindsay’s, Kerrie and Katherine (13:23) finished with identical times to fill the second and third place positions for the ladies.

Of the twenty one guys completing the one lap distance, Noah Lamrock (11:17) was the quickest, to stay just in front of Joshua Gray (11:38) and Logan Whiteley (12:02).  The two lap 5.2km run saw Jack Daintith (20:19) power along to the fastest time to finish clear of Ricky Bangert (23:00) and Sota Kuroki (23:32). Of the girls Kinisha Roweth (23:35) was the first one home ahead of Ella Lamrock (24:10) and Caitlyn Broadfoot (25:01) to round out the top three.  Kim Broadfoot ran a solid 35:34 for the two laps to be declared the overall winner on the day.

The ladies set the pace over 7.8km with Amber Rich (33:26) again at the top of the list just ahead of Liz Simpson (33:56), with Jess Richards (34:54) not too far behind in third spot. Tim Scrimshaw (34:23) worked his way through the field to the front of the pack, to finish in front of Daryl Roweth (35:02) and a resurgent David Craig (35:53).

On another shocking Wednesday, where snow had fallen during the day again,  as well as various versions of rain of and on for the whole day, 21 runners and the regular organisers, braved the conditions to get in their Wednesday run. Jack Daintith (10:36) was clearly the fastest runner on the night, while Ella Lamrock (13:10) was the fastest of the girls. Bill Fairgrieve (14:40) had a good final lap after being pushed by the improving Bailey Penrose (14:39), to take out the overall win. Chloe Zeigler (16:56) also recorded a 21 second personal best.

Hopefully this weekend will see a bit of a change to the local weather to make running a little more enjoyable for all. The club run this Sunday is at Clergate starting at the usual 9am.

SURF'S UP : Orange Runners Club members from left Mitch Essex, Frank Ostini, Mike cooper, Kyle Ostini and Tony Syme finished the 2015 C2S

SURF’S UP : Orange Runners Club members from left Mitch Essex, Frank Ostini, Mike cooper, Kyle Ostini and Tony Syme finished the 2015 C2S

Information provided by Daryl Roweth