Corcoran claims top gong

 In CWD Articles, News

Article by Daryl Roweth

At the Christmas Party and awards night on Saturday, the new ‘ROY’ or ‘Lea-ROY’ as she is now known, Leanne Corcoran, was announced as the ‘2014 Runner Of the Year’ after a stellar season of running. Included among her many great achievements, a first ever marathon at the Gold Coast, where she posted an outstanding time of 3 hours & 25 minutes.  Winning the Junior Runner Of the Year as well as the Most Consistent Junior title was Jack Daintith after another busy and successful year on the running tracks.  Also a very special award saw an extremely excited and proud Keagan Wilson receive the ‘Encouragement Award’.

The list of other awards on the night and those runners nominated for the major awards, were as follows:

Most Consistent Wednesday Runner – Kim Jarvis
Most Consistent Runner – Gary Taylor
Over 55 years of age most improved – Judy Tarleton
Most Improved Runner – Ati Sadr
President’s Medal – Renai McArdle

Nominees for Junior Runner of the Year
Lily Craig
Jack Daintith
Eidan Monks
Lachlan Ross
Connor Whiteley

Nominees for Runner of the Year
Sue Betts
Leanne Corcoran
Renai McArdle
Brian Sharp
Ursula Wilson

The day after the Christmas Party, many of the party goers turned out for the one hour challenge at Elephant Park. To make the job of running around the track a little easier and less monotonous, organisers set the run to be done on the longer 1.6km (1 mile) loop which goes down near the pool. Around 90 runners accepted the challenge and set off at their various paces with many looking to maintain that pace for the hour and see how many laps they could do. The fastest runners scorched around 8 laps inside the hour although potentially fastest man Brad Simmons could have slipped in another one inside the hour but decided he was done.

Congratulations to Brad (8 laps in 53:16), Iain McLean (8 – 53:56), David Ross (8 – 57:53), Stephen Martin (8 – 58:21) and Ursula Wilson (8 – 59:30). Securing a handicap win was Noah Lamrock who sped around his 3 laps in 21:12, which based on his average lap, had him footing it with the fast guys. Unfortunately one member, Norma Bradley, was feeling a little unwell after her 3 laps, but from all reports she is feeling better now.

On Wednesday night on a slightly damp track and with a slightly reduced showing in numbers but this didn’t seem to affect the pace around the Elephant Park track. Fastest laps were completed by Connor Whiteley (9:44) and of the ladies Leanne ‘Lea-ROY’ Corcoran (11:55). Gabe Colla was the overall handicap winner with a strong 11:50 time for the three laps.  PB’s were ran by Monique Connolly 21s, Sally Kitto 11s, Man Ha Mackay 36s, Martin Lendi 28s, Nick Lendi 26s, Kerrie Layard 52s, Sophie Burton 15s, Danny Burton 24s and Jason Hamling 17s.

This weekends Sunday run is at Clergate School, starting at 9am, with a return to the specified distances (3km, 5km or 10km).

Looking a little bit ahead the Wednesday run on December 24 is cancelled but there will be a run on the Sunday December 28.

Also, there is a book now available at Runners Club for people to put your names down to help out over the festival weekend. Please get your names down ASAP to help with the event organisation.

TOP BILLING: Runner Of the Year Leanne Corcoran shows off her trophy.

TOP BILLING: Runner Of the Year Leanne Corcoran shows off her trophy.