CWD : 15th December 2018

 In CWD Articles


49 members took on the undulating Pinnacle course last Sunday morning. Congratulations to Noel Annett and Jai Anlezark who were presented with their 75 and 25 run achievement medals. Well done to Iain Mclean who was declared the winner on the day.


Amber Rich and Gary Taylor set the pace in the 3km finishing in times of 13:49 and 20:11 respectively. In the 7km, the visiting Karla Whitmill and Iain Mclean finished the demanding course in 37:02 and 30:26. Carissa Hickley and Rob Whitmill took were first home in the mystery 12km course in times of 1:08:51 and 50:16. Well done to the 16 members who were brave enough to undertake the “mystery” 12km run.


Great to see Karla and Rob were members of the Club many years ago and were back in town for a family wedding.  Robs time in the 12km was quit impressive.


The conditions were humid for our weekly run around Elephant Park on Wednesday afternoon.  Despite the earlier rain during the day, 55 members enjoyed the afternoon.   Placegetters for the men this week were Brad Simmons (11:17), Anthony Daintith (11:32) and Hugh Daintith (11:41). For the ladies, Alicia Ross (12:08), Carissa Hickley (12:31) and Lily Craig (12:51) filled the first 3 places. Congratulations to Mike Cooper who was declared the winner (and didn’t hurt himself).


Thank you to those who have kindly volunteered to take the mats and equipment on Sundays for a month during next year, it is greatly appreciated.


It is also time to start thinking about training for the Orange Running Festival which is now only 11 weeks away!  There will be 2km junior dash on the Saturday afternoon and then 5k, 10k, half marathon and marathon events on the Sunday morning of the Festival.  It may be that perfect time to do that marathon that you have dreamt of completing!


This Sunday’s run is at the scenic Spring Creek Dam course where there will be 2.4km, 4.8km, 7.2km and 9.6km options.



Photo is group of ORC runners about to run the Pinnacle last Sunday morning:

L-R: Glenys Rosser, Judy Tarleton, Anna Daintith, Justine Tarleton, Kim Anlezark, Alicia Anlezark, Claire Anlezark, Jai Anlezark, Alison Spurway and Brian Penrose.