CWD 15th June 2019

 In CWD Articles

A foggy Sunday morning saw 20 runners tackle the Federal Falls Trail run with a start that tested all with a climb along the power lines to the towers at the top of Mount Canobolas. The distances were slightly affected due to road closures causing course markers to vary from the original plans, but all runners enjoyed the tracks and great views. Setting the pace over the long and short course trails were:

Long 10.4km – Male – Iain McLean 68:27, Joel Broadfoot 70:42 & David Ross 72:00,

– Female – Leanne Corcoran 73:10, Carissa Hickey 85:00 & Alicia Ross 87:00.

Short 6km – Male – Mike Cooper  51:11, Trent Brown 59:14 & George & Richard Hogg 59:52,

  • Female – Kinisha Roweth 63:06.


Then some of the trail runners joined the other members for the Lake Canobolas Club run with a total of 74 starters, there were a number of notable awards presented before the running began. Grace Hosie for 50 runs, Lyn O’mara 75 runs and by far the biggest reaction seen for some time, Andrew ‘thanks for leaving’ McArdle, was recognised for 300 runs.

Also laying it on the line, was young George Hogg, who had earlier completed his first trail run and stated his intention to run the full 4 laps of the Lake to complete 10km’s. In a massive day out, he backed his words with a huge 73 minute effort to finish the run and complete over 16km’s in total.

Fastest three male and female runners over the four distances were:

2.5km – Joel Broadfoot 11:06, Iain McLean 11:07 and John Betts 15:16.

5km – Hugh Daintith 22:31, Blake Gleeson 23:46 and Lachlan Ross 23:59.

7.5km – David Ross 36:52, David Craig 38:21 and Anthony Daintith 39:02.

10km – Chris Harrington 35:38, Sam Harma 40:30 and Tim Murphy 43:39.


2.5km – Grace Hosie 12:36, Claire Blair 14:03 and Emily Palmer 16:58.

5km – Jessie Dean 24:28, Kelly Gleeson 28:09 and Bec Davis 29:05.

7.5km – Leanne Corcoran 37:46, Alicia Ross 38:01 and Abby Dean 38:25

10km – Renai McArdle 59:17, Pam Fullgrabe 63:57 and Anna Daintith 66:41.


The overall handicap winner was Phillipa Hogg who did the 2 lap 5km course in 46 minutes.


Congratulations to our Junior Runners on some outstanding results at cross country this week. Leading the way were:

Lachlan Ross 1st U15’s 4km 14:21 & Jai Anlezark 5th U13’s 3km 10:44.

Lachlan & Jai will be joined by Hugh Corcoran, Sam Gross & Hannah Gross at State next month!


A number of juniors including Blake Gleeson, Milla Jurd, Lucy Jurd, Jocelyn Blair, Rikky Bangert & Lily Bangert who competed at Eastern Creek in the CIS Cross Country on Thursday & Hadden Bennet competing in Cross Country on Friday.

Unfortunately results from Wednesday’s EP Club run were not available for this weeks report.

This weekend will see the Sunday Club run at Shiralee Road starting at 9am, while some club members will be travelling to Newnes, near Lithgow, to tackle various events in the Glow Worm


For more information on events and results, please check out the website ‘’.



Information provided by Daryl Roweth

Grace Hosie was presented with a medal for achieving 50 club runs by Vice President Greg Shapter