Orange’s fast feet at The Australian Running Festival

 In CWD Articles

A number of club members ventured to Canberra to compete in the Australian Running Festival last weekend. The weather was fine and our Club members were even better. Saturday got underway with the 10km run with Leon Lincoln (48:55) leading the way for Orange, with Joshua Dunn (55:03), Atieh Sadr (57:58) and Susie Patey (63:12) all running great times. In the 5km race, Nathan Sutherland led the charge (18:10) finishing eighth overall and third in his age category. Jack Daintith ran a strong 19:24 to finish fourth in his age group, while Liz Simpson (21:08) was impressive running third in her age group. The Williamson sisters, Nicole (21:53) and Carrie (22:47) were fourth and fifth respectively in their age category. Also doing the 5km was the improving Hugh Daintith (27:25) who finished strongly.

On Sunday in the marathon Ursula Wilson put in an outstanding run as she powered to a 3 hour 24 minutes and 35 seconds finishing time and thirteenth overall female home, on a testing course. Daryl Roweth finished in a time of 3h47m54s, while father and son Gareth and Nicholas Thomas ran together for a 4h15m result in Nicholas’s first ever marathon. Also battling away at the 42.2km event was Stephen Blackwood who finished in 6h34m.

In the half marathon our younger runners and some not so young shone through their efforts with Jack Daintith finishing first in the 13 – 15 age group running 1h39m35s and Kinisha Roweth first in her 16 – 19 age group in her first half marathon in a time of 1h46m51s. Not to be outdone by the younger set, John Betts did his first half marathon in some 30 years and ran a fantastic time of 1h56m51s. Also running and doing great times were Peter Mueller (1h42m18s), Anthony Daintith (1h45m58s), Donna Read (1h52m44s) and Rebecca Lincoln (2h25m5s).

At the normal club run at CSU on Sunday Jamie Corcoran (8:34) was the fastest over the 1.6km 1 lap run. Sophie Martin (8:39) finished just 5s behind to be the fastest female and also secured the overall win. Youngsters, Molly Dean and Rosie Corcoran were the next to finish. Over the 3.2km distance John Connolly (15:15) and Matthew Dean (15:58) had a close battle, with young Hugh Corcoran third man home. A tight contest also in the girls run with Abby Dean (17:19) finishing in front of the consistent Alison Spurway (17:27) and Kerrie Lindsay (17:59).  Iain McLean (19:50) powered to first place in the 4.8km run to finish clear of Jackson Boucher (22:27) and David Craig (23:12). The girls had a tight tussle with Leanne Corcoran (21:44) just outpacing Amber Rich (22:16) and young gun Jessie Dean (23:03). The boys outpointed the girls over 6.4km as Robert Stuart (26:21) outpaced all to clearly be fastest from Brian Lam (31:46) and Tony Fitzpatrick (33:43).  President Jane Fairgrieve (41:23) outpaced the improving Sabrina Manickam (43:43) as the only ladies to test themselves over four laps. In the testing 5 lap, 8km run Mark Chapman set the fastest time of 36:20, with Paul Centofanti (38:32) and Neil Sengupta (38:51) battling out the minor placings.  The light on her feet Estelle Dean (37:08) led home the ladies with Naomi Boynton (40:21) and Janet Martin (41:44) running great races just behind.

This week we just beat the storm on Wednesday night at Elephant Park with 100 members running the course with a huge number of personal bests being ran, including Alison Spurway 23s, Abby Dean 12s, Molly Dean 5s, Thomas Hogben 33s, Ati Sadr 29s, Sabrina Manickam 20s, Caitlin Edmonstone 7s, Susie Patey 22s, Jennifer McLean 10s, Jackson Essex 21s, Beckie Plant 25s, Donna Read 10s, Victoria Morgan 45s, Christie McGreal 4s, Harry Dean 9s, Ken Freedman 43s and Chris Brown 1m11s.

Jack Daintith was unaffected by the weekends efforts as he set the fastest time of the night with a strong and consistent 10:31. Fastest female and finishing not too far behind Jack and Iain McLean (10:45) was Meg Reeves with an 11:06. Overall winner this week was Alison Spurway who had a PB inspired and very even 14:45.


At the Club’s AGM held last Friday night the following committee positions / persons were elected.

Orange Runners’ Club Inc.

President Jane Fairgrieve
Vice President Graham Fahy
Treasurer Bill Fairgrieve
Secretary Alison Spurway
Ordinary Committee Michael Sharp, John Moss, Anthony Daintith
Handicapper Michael Sharp
Website Coordinator Renai McArdle
Social Media Coordinator Renai McArdle
Certificates Renai McArdle
Safety Officer John Moss
Publicity Officers Daryl Roweth, Kinisha Roweth (Backup : Jane Fairgrieve)
Running Calendar Jane Fairgrieve
Course Markers Mike Cooper, Pete Mueller, Mark Chapman


Orange Colour City Running Festival

Head Co-Ordinator David Gibson
Assistant Co-Ordinators John Betts, Ursula Wilson
Treasurer Tim Edmondstone
Secretaries Amanda Gregor, Alison Spurway
Registration Officer Iain McLean
Media Co-Ordinator Renai McArdle


A very big thank you to the following people who have stood down from their positions but have contributed a great deal to ORC or the OCCRF:-

Mike Cooper, Joel Kitto, Fiona Mackin, Erin Gibson, Rebecca Lincoln, Beck Halls.


This weekend the Sunday club run is at the relatively new run venue, Stagecoach Road with a 9am start.

John Betts sailing through the HM at The Australian Running, Canberra

MARATHON MAN : John Betts completed the Half Marathon at The Australian Running Festival       12 April 2015

Article by Daryl Roweth